Biden admin to erase derogatory ‘S-word’ from 660 federal place names across the US

The Biden administration released a list of replacement names for more than 660 federal sites across the United States named after a derogatory slur for Native Americans.

It follows the Department of Interior’s recent Secretarial Order 3404

that formally declared the term “s—-” as offensive as the “N-word”, which was declared derogatory by the department in 1962.

“The time has come to recognize that the term “s—-” is no less derogatory than others which have been identified and should also be erased from the National landscape and forever replaced,” the secretarial order said.

This is a developing story.


ALSO READ   Paula Rego: Artist who used her work to explore being a woman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *